When cinema and advocacy collide…

We become a gender juror! Comme ca:

IMG_20131222_095307 IMG_20131222_100550 IMG_20131222_101018

Last week was one heck of a week. Started the week by spending two days inside the Quezon City Gender and Development office watching indie films. Then Wednesday was rest day and by Thursday until Saturday, I was at the Podium mall watching more mainstream films.

Yes, thanks to my happy QC GAD RCO contacts, I became part of the jury of this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Most Gender Sensitive Film Award. Chaired by action film director William Mayo, the panel was also made up of actress Harlene Baustista, indie director Sigrid Bernardo, and Kuya Rey from DILG or something like that. Yes, we had to sit through all of this year’s entries and watch them. After, deliberations happened. It was fairly easy for the indie part and the student film category part. It was in the mainstream category that we had such a standoff hahaha! I will never forget those justifications and semi-debates. And I’m even tickled pink that former MTRCB chair Marissa Laguardia, who sat in and eavesdropped on our deliberations, agreed with most of my statements and justifications hehe. First time I met her but we have many common friends so that was nice.

A learning experience for me, this gig. Huge. And this is why I do the things I do in my life: for the  improvement of local media especially in terms of its handling of gender-related issues. I hope I could participate in more activities like these in the future. I live for these kinds of things. And I’m happy that I could contribute in some small and humble way.

So I think I’ll also make reviews of all the films I saw, and also put in a side snippet of my gendered views about the film. When I do a review, I always look at it as a whole, then later pick on some of its parts, along with the consequences and the perceptions that may arise from having created such kinds of story and form combination through cinema. Sige, let’s do that.

In the meantime, hop over to my film review site to see my latest review, a pahabol of ANG TURKEY MAN AY PABO RIN. And then we start with the MMFF stuff in the week.

Cheers to a cinematic Christmas everyone!

~ by leaflens on December 24, 2013.

One Response to “When cinema and advocacy collide…”

  1. […] blogged about in my media+pop culture site, I was lucky enough to be part of this year’s MMFF Most Gender Sensitive Award jury, so I’ve seen this film way before its Christmas release. And to tell you a secret, this film […]

Leave a Reply

 
