intersecting gender and performances on recent pinoy pop culture chuvaness

Two of my recent articles on the Philippine Online Chronicles’ (POC) Pinoy LGBT channel kind of touched upon performances and gender and sexualities, of course.

One is about my experience as a volunteer writer-interviewer of the recently launched Pinoy Big Brother season 4 show, where I got to interview LGBTQ hopefuls during the out-of-Manila auditions. You can read that here.

I *will* write about this whole experience one of these days, I promise. Maybe when the show ends. (July 2011 at the Batangas auditions)

The other is about my small analysis of watching this Maalaala Mo Kaya anniversary episode where Jake Cuenca played a gay/trans woman character, and a shorter one on the Stomp performance I saw at the CCP last month, with excerpts of my interviews with the two female Stomp-ers. You can read that one here.

talented, and cute, too teehee (October 2011 at the CCP)

Posts in my social networking sites also abound with announcements of identified LGBTQ advocates guesting in different mainstream TV shows like Kris Aquino’s morning talk show, the barangay-court-on-air Face To Face hosted by my high school crush Amy Perez, and a few others. I think there was also a guesting of sorts in one of openly gay celebrity host Boy Abunda’s shows, being an identified ally of the LGBTQ partylist Ladlad.

I guess this is a good last quarter for pop culture intersections of queerness. But of course, not all intersections are of the affirmative kind. Yes, we still have a long way to go but hey, we’re already starting. So let’s move on.

~ by leaflens on November 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
