more poppers! on radio+film

What could be more pop than pop? When it’s pop radio hehe. Wala, lost in translation ito.

Seriously,  I just want to share this latest endeavor I concocted with a bunch of like-minded creative people. Muli, boses ang puhunan dito.

I’ll be a radio talk show co-host soon! Like this Friday. From 6-7pm, you’ll get to hear me and my co-faculty colleagues and close friends as we review films and talk about film industry and film lessons stuff in our program called “Cine Chichirya.”

We air at DZUP 1602 AM. That’s on the AM band, yep, at the far right side of it. We also stream live at the DILC site. Yes, this is live, folks! Click here to listen to us every Friday 6pm Manila time.

DZUP is the University of the Philippines’ official radio station. It is located at UP Diliman campus in Quezon City under the College of Mass Communication where I teach. The Broadcast Communication Department runs this station and they asked us like 2-3 years ago pa if we want to pitch in a concept for a program daw. We didn’t really think about it seriously until early this year. They relaunched the radio station since they got a new and bigger transmitter. Again, they asked all around if people wanted to pitch in concepts for radio shows, so pinatulan ko na this time.

Since I’ve been doing small mini-reviews of films in my blogs and entitle them “cine chichirya,” I thought of bringing that gig live on air, for radio. They liked it naman kaya gusto na nilang isalang. It’s going to be under the “Radio Iskool” line-up of programs so we just can’t be free-flowing film reviewers there. We’ll also insert bits and pieces of film lessons but of course, all of these will be delivered in a fun way. Kami pa! Fun is our middle name. Or as for me, in a chenelyn way hehe. Wish I could let you hear the plugs about the show. Lemme figure that out muna, low-techie tayo e hehe.

Pero dahil sabi nga ni Michael Jackson ay “You are not alone,” I’ll be doing this gig with my two good friends Av and X, my film companions for life. We had a test run last week and this looks like absolute fun!

So there, now you know where I will be every Friday night at 6-7pm. Tune in, okay? The Cine Chichirya blog is not yet polished but feel free to visit that as well. We’ll try to update the blog as we go along with the radio show chenes.

We start airing this Friday, July 9. So listen up! 🙂

~ by leaflens on July 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
